The new Photo RAW 2017.7 gives you access to you presets and filters globally. This means you are able to save a preset or settings for a particular image and access this preset inside the Browse, Effects or Develop modules. In previous versions, you only had access to a preset within the particular module that it was created in.
For example, inside the Browse module of the Photo RAW 2017.7 you have access to presets created and saved inside Effects and Develop:
Being able to access your presets globally makes it easier to apply a preset to your image (or group of images) regardless of what module you are editing or viewing the image. However, it is important to note that if you are applying a preset in Develop that also contains settings from the Effects module, disabling all of the Develop settings will not reveal the original image (yes, this can be confusing). Please see the screenshots below for clarification.
In the screenshot below, I have applied a Photomorphis preset that contains settings from both Develop and Effects:
Adding a preset to the image will display the settings used within the Develop module as shown in the screenshot above. In the next screenshot, you will notice I have disabled all of the settings on the right, but the image in the preview window is not showing the original image:
I have unchecked the settings on the right and also reset the settings within the Develop module in the screenshot above, but the image still appears to have some settings applied. Why? This is because this particular preset contains settings from the Effects module. The Effects settings will be visible on the image in the preview window, but are not visible within the Develop module settings pane on the right. If you would like to see the original image, you will need to use the Preview button in the lower left corner as shown in the screenshot below:
The same principle applies when applying a preset in the Effects module that contains settings from the Develop module. In the screenshot below, I have applied this same preset and disabled all of the filters within the Filter options pane on the right, but the image still has some settings applied to the image in the preview window. Why is this? This is because the settings from the Develop module are being applied to your image in the preview window:
To see a preview of the original image inside the Effects module (with no settings applied from Effects and Develop), will need to toggle on/off the Preview button in the lower left-hand corner of the program window. Here is a screenshot before clicking the Preview button:
Below is a screenshot after clicking the Preview button inside the Effects module:
The screenshot above now shows a preview of the original image. The preset settings from both Develop and Effects are disabled. This is the only way to reveal the original image when working with a preset that contains settings from both Develop and Effects.