All ON1 products support non-destructive editing. To support this, each application stores the editing instructions in sidecar files with the .on1 extension. These contain the metadata for the associated photo(s) as well as their editing instructions for each ON1 application they have been edited it.
Each ON1 application has different editing capabilities and can only show and edit its settings. When you open a photo that has been edited in another ON1 application you may see an alert dialog explaining that you won't see the settings from another ON1 application.
When using ON1 PHOTO RAW with ON1 NoNoise AI 2021, if the photo has been previously edited in ON1 PHOTO RAW 2021, this message can appear when opening a the photo directly within ON1 NoNoise AI 2021 app.
NoNoise will detect the previously edited file and .on1 sidecar and popup this warning dialogue after opening the file.
This warning indicates you won't see your edits from ON1 Photo RAW in the NoNoise app.
And if you open a file in ON1 PHOTO RAW 2021 that has been opened in ON1 NoNoise AI 2021, this message can appear.
Both NoNoiseAI 2021 and PHOTO RAW 2021 can both have settings on the photo that the other app can’t see.
However, any edits made in both apps will be preserved.
Let's say you edited a raw photo in ON1 Effects or ON1 Photo RAW and added a black and white filter. In those applications the photo will appear in black and white. However if you open that original photo into ON1 NoNoise, it can't show the photo in black and white, as it does not include the black and white filter. You will see the original photo, with no settings applied. Your non-destructive settings from ON1 Effects or ON1 Photo RAW will be preserved and when you open the original photo back into one of those apps, you will continue to see it in black and white.
Now that you have edited the photo in NoNoise AI as well, it will contain instructions for NoNoise, which of course only NoNoise can read and understand, so you will see a similar alert when yo open the original back into another application, like ON1 Photo RAW, which can't apply the editing instructions from NoNoise. And in the same fashion, your editing settings from NoNoise will be preserved so that the next time you open the photo into NoNoise, your previous settings will be applied.