Skip to main content

ON1 2023 Resize Button

Answered

Comments

10 comments

  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Unfortunately, you cannot get back to Edit from the Resize module. The only way out is to click Done or Cancel. Cancel will return you to the Browser and save your edits. Done allows you to save your work in a resized (possibly, you can save at its original size) and exported to a pixel image format which you can trash if you are not ready for that.

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Another test shows that using the Cancel button will also save your edits in the original file. So, either way your edits are saved.

    0
  • Gerald Cooper

    Thank you Brian for your replies. I think that needs sorting as its a real pain if as I did you press Resize by mistake. However good to know the Cancel Button saves the edits. Onwards and upwards.

    0
  • Gerald Cooper

    Keith you are absolutely right that resize button either needs moving over to the left or as you say have an option to hide it. While talking PITA's it is also one when signing in that I have to type my password everytime despite the fact I have the Remember me button ticked.

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Y'all are making this a much bigger deal than it is. If you wind up in Resize unexpectedly just click Done and Edit and you're back in business just that quick.

    0
  • Gerald Cooper

    I don't think anyone is making a big issue of this at all, quite simply its a pain if you press it and have no idea what to do about it and the manual doesn't mention the possibility of this happening. On my PC if you press the Resize button and then the Done button you get the save option come up. One you have saved it you can press the Edit button and carry on from where you left off. Now in my book that's three moves required to get back to where you were before you pressed the resize button. As simple as that is it is 3 moves to many, don't you think? 

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    I should have said Cancel, not Done. Sorry about that. Cancel returns you directly to the Browser while retaining your edits.

    0
  • Gerald Cooper

    OK Brian understood. After pressing Resize whoops. So I press Cancel you get "Are you sure you want to cancel editing?" etc. So I press  OK and then the Edit button to get me back to where I was before the Resize Button. Same story Brian, you are right it is no big deal; it's just a pain.

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Do you know you can press the Right Arrow key to change the default response to that cancel dialog so OK is highlighted then you can press the Return/Enter key. I find hotkeys much faster to use than a mouse or even my tablet which is also faster than a mouse. That turns this into a 1 click, 3 keypress operation. Yeah, it is a PITA but it can be minimized.

    0
  • Keith Neff

    Gerald, I also have been caught by this one a number of time and it's a real PITA, on solution would be for them to offer the option in the View menu to shut off those icons.  Maybe someday.

    -1

Please sign in to leave a comment.