Skip to main content

Keywords AI relaunch

Answered

Comments

9 comments

  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    You can Reset the program and it will clear all that stuff for you. Press the Shift key while the program is launching then click the Reset ON1 Keyword AI 2023 button.

    Delete Settings File

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Note: It will not remove keywords it has already found and embedded.

    0
  • Rolf Winter

    Thank you veery much, Brian.

    0
  • Keith Neff

    Brian, could you elaborate on what exactly embedding is?  I am also processing thousands of pictures and I notice that some have copies of the AI keywords in their actual keywords list and others have only the AI keywords below that list and some have nothing.  I'm assuming that's because it's not finished yet?

    If I hover over the 'Embedding' progress bar (which is empty) it currently show 0 of 5219 and that number keeps increasing.  Thanks for shedding any light on this.

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    From page 16 in the User Guide:

    EMBEDDING METADATA

    When you create keywords (AI-generated or manually entered) and other metadata (ratings, labels, descriptions) for photos, this information needs to be embedded with the photo so that it is visible when viewed in other applications, like Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop or Capture One. Depending on the file type, this metadata information can be put in the file itself, or it can be included as a separate file, called a sidecar, that sits with the associated photo in its folder. These sidecars have an .XMP file extension — for Extensible Metadata Platform — and are readable by most photo apps.

    By default, Photo Keyword AI embeds metadata automatically as you’re working; to change this, uncheck the Automatically Embed Metadata item in the
    Photo menu.

    To embed metadata manually from that point on, select a photo or group of photos, and choose Embed Metadata from the Photo menu. You’ll
    be asked to verify that you wish to embed the metadata for the photo or group.

    READING METADATA INTO OTHER APPS FROM KEYWORD AI

    Most of the popular photo editing and organizational apps have a mechanism for reading and writing metadata to files. When importing photos tagged with Keyword AI into Lightroom or Capture One, for example, those apps will recognize keywords (and other metadata) you have added in Photo Keyword AI and save them within their catalog structure.

    If you want to use Keyword AI on photos that have been cataloged by other apps, open the folder containing those photos. You should see any existing keywords or other compatible metadata, and you can scan and generate AI keywords and embed them back into the files. When you’re done and back in your originating editor, you will have to read the updated metadata back into that app. Lightroom has a flag that will indicate that the metadata for a photo has been changed; you can click on that photo (or all photos with that flag) and choose Read Metadata from File from the Metadata menu. Capture One has a similar command, available from the Image menu, but it doesn’t have an easy way to determine if the metadata has changed.

    The program does not automatically add the keywords it finds into the Keyword List; you have to do that yourself. That is what the up arrow is for on each keyword so you can add that individual keyword or you can click the Add All button.

    0
  • Keith Neff

    Yes I read the manual and understand the concepts, what I don't understand is what it is doing when the Embedding message is 0 of whatever, is it still scanning?  Sure is using a lot of CPU cycles.

    I'm trying to let it complete its task but don't have a clue how much longer it will take.  Meanwhile, you can't open PR while Keyword AI is running so kind of stuck waiting.  And yes the manual does say it can take a long time but I didn't find the Users Guide until after I started this process.

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Unfortunately, that's all we have to work with Keith. You'll have to ask support for a better answer. It is also unfortunate that the manual wasn't ready when the program was released but what can we do, right?

    You can force quit the program. It won't hurt anything and it will pick up right where it was when killed.

    Take a look at your disc activity. If the program is still scanning that should be pretty high too as all the files are being read and written to.

    0
  • Keith Neff

    Yep Brian that's where it's at.  I'm a bit skittish about a force quit.  I did it a couple of times and the last time it said that the database was damaged and it would use the backup so I guessing it had to redo some stuff.  So I guess I will just wait, thanks for the info.

    best regards

    Keith

     

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    No problem. That's a new message on me, I've never seen it. I don't like force quitting either but sometimes there isn't any choice.

    Good luck and let us know when it finishes.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.