Skip to main content

Version - Deleting original edit?

Answered

Comments

13 comments

  • David Kick

    If you are talking about deleting the original raw file NO DON'T DO IT you will lose the original and all versions.. A version is just a virtual copy of the original raw file. That said if you have the original raw file and multiple versions of the file then yes you can delete any version without impacting other versions.

    1
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Clayton, yes you have it exactly right. Syncing the version back to the original will allow you to delete the version and still have its changes.

    I go the opposite direction. I think of the version as a backup and continue editing the original. More often than not I will want to use the changes so I can save a step and just delete the version. Everyone's workflow is different, right? :)

    1
  • Clayton Dool

    Thanks David and Brian.  I found through experimenting the "DON"T DO IT" scenario.  :)   Granted, sometimes my experimentation is on my live data...  Brian thanks for the suggestion of going the opposite direction...didn't even think of that.  

     

    0
  • Martin de Jong

    I also  ran into the DON’T DO IT scenario and although I appreciate the opposite direction I find that the raw file should not be deleted when you delete the first version. After all the changes you make do not live in the raw file but in the database. So when you delete that version all you have to is delete the data belonging to the changes you made. It works like that Capture One Pro so it would possible to do the same in Photo Raw.

    0
  • Rick Sammartino Community moderator

    Martin, not sure what you're trying to say. To avoid confusion (hopefully):

    • deleting any version (1st or otherwise) does not delete the raw
    • deleting the raw also deletes all versions
    • deleting the edits for to a version does not delete the version
    • an unedited version is still a version and must be explicitly deleted
    0
  • Clayton Dool

    I think what Martin is thinking, and I feel should work this way too, is that creating a version should treat original as version too, thus...

    Create a version of raw, you get...

    - Raw File (+edits)   - file.jpg

    ..........- ver1 (+edits) - filev1.jpg

     

    But, system should instead see it as 

    - Raw File/physical file

    ..........- ver0 (+edits)  - file.jpg

    ..........- ver1 (+edits)  - filev1.jpg

     

    Deleting either ver0 or ver1 shouldn't delete the raw file if another version still exists.  This is how it SHOULD work.  This is how lightroom works and per Martin's reference, how Capture One Pro works as well.

     

    But what we are seeing is the original file/edit is not seen as a version, so deleting it will delete all other version.

     

     

    0
  • David Kick

    On1 Photo Raw is not Lightroom STOP expecting it to be like Lightroom and learn how Photo raw works. Perhaps read the owners manual.  That said On1 does not modify your original Raw file. If you edit the original raw it is not changed edits are stored in the sidecar file and database. Only when you export will a JPG or Tiff etc  be generated.  When you create a version it is a virtual copy of the file it was generated from identified as v1 v2 etc.  You can do anything you want with versions keeping in mind all versions and edits are stored in one sidecar file/ database info associated with the original raw file. Simply look at your original raw file as the "negative" that you should keep for future purposes.

    1
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    That is how the program is designed. It is not a bug. Expecting program A to work the way program B does is unrealistic in my opinion. If you'd like to see this behavior changed, make a suggestion on the ON1 PhotoRAW Project. If enough users agree with you the company will consider it.

    0
  • Rick Sammartino Community moderator

    Clayton, what you're describing is called 'Duplicate' in On1. With Duplicate, you get physical versions of your file rather than virtual versions and you can delete either one without affecting the other.

     

    PS, Brian Congrats on becoming a Moderator!

     

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Thanks Rick

    0
  • Clayton Dool

    You are right Brian... ON1 isn't Lightroom!  :)  And that is a good thing!  I even joked as such in thread https://on1help.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360048099292-But-it-s-not-Lightroom-for-laughs-.   LOL.  Since switching to ON1, I found it very hard to look back at Lightroom. 

    For most part, love ON1's editing and approach.  But nothing is perfect.  I think the version feature is one area for improvement.  It doesn't seem as natural in its behavior that the original is not considered a version as well, thus deleting it will delete both it and the version that was created.  It seems more natural that if a version is created, both it and the original are now seen as two versions, and the master physical file would be deleted only if both/all versions are removed.  This just becomes a head scratcher when as a new user coming from LR (and assuming based on comments above C1 as well) in which "Virtual Copy" looks identical to "version", that the behavior is different.  I think knowing how it functions, and the workaround you Brian suggested about treating the version as the backup copy is best way for using the feature in my scenario.   I will look to add it shortly as a feature enhancement if not already in there.

    And yes, congrats Brian on becoming a moderator, but more so "thank you" for being one.

    0
  • Martin de Jong

    @Rick, The way you wrote it is way clearer then the way I put it. Thanks for making it more understandable.

     

     

     

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Clayton, note that not all file types can be versioned, .on1photo come immediately to mind. That's where duplicate becomes important. Of course it affects the largest file sizes, right? :)

    Sorry if I sounded a bit abrupt above, it was unintentional. Write up your ideas on The PhotoRAW Project page. The company does pay attention to it.

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.