disable sidecars permanentlyAnswered
i'm trying to disable sidecars in ON1 2020.
But every time I restart the program sidecars are checked on by default.
How can I disable sidecars permanently?
I'm using the test version at this moment and consider to buy ON1. But first i want to see how this works.
I assume you are trying to turn them off with the Preferences setting? If that is not working for you you'll have to contact support with the Submit a request link below.0
Why you turn off a sidecars?
how you do that? You can do that in preferences, I will look but the question is why ?0
It's a personal choice. I see no reason to turn them off as they act as a backup the edits database and allow for an image to be moved from one computer to another and bring the edits along.0
I like to leave sidecars on as well because they allow me to edit photo's on an internal drive on my desktop PC from my laptop and I can see the same edits on both machines. ( I have my desktop photo drive shared on my local network )0
I would also like to turn off sidecars. Reason: because I want view my edited photos through my NAS photo application via my phone.
I use Synology Moments and my workflow basically looks like this;
I shoot something on my EOS 5D, upload it to my NAS. I then edit in ON1 PhotoRaw and want the changes I've made to be viewable without using ON1, on my phone or via the Synology Moments webinterface.
The only way to make your ON1 Photo RAW edits visible outside of the ON1 program is to Export the edited image to a pixel format like jpeg, psd, or tiff. Those files will not have any sidecars unless you edit them after exporting them in which case the new edits would also have to be exported.
If you want to view the edited images on your iPhone or any other device I would create a folder (structure) for just those finished and exported images.
You can turn off the sidecars if you like but without them if you ever have to uninstall the program then reinstall it for any reason you will loose all your edits. Having the sidecar files allows the new install to recover those edits. Or, if you get a new computer. Connecting the NAS will give you access to the old images but without the sidecars the new system will not see the edits.0
OK! Thanks Brian Lawson for the reply. I really like the software and my main objective at the moment is to make it easy to edit my photos and still being able to watch them on my NAS.
I will definitely try your approach. I guess the only downside is that I will end up with a few more files than I planned to. Wanted to have everything in one place.
When the new Mobile app is released later this month you should be able to view the edited images on your NAS without exporting them. And, it will be free. It is designed for use with the 360º cloud service but as long as you can point your phone or tablet to the NAS it will pick up the edits but again, only if those sidecar files are there for it to use.0
Amazing! Pressing "Buy Now" immediately!0
Please note I said "should" and it will depend upon the other device to be able to access the NAS so the Mobile program can see it. I haven't see Mobile and I don't know for certain what all its capabilities will be.
I do know that with a subscription to the 360º service you add your finished edits to an album that can be published. The Mobile app will be able to access that and see the edits. That is its real purpose. That and allowing you to shoot and edit photos with the device's camera.0
Like OP, I prefer to disable sidecars (I am happy to live with the consequences of destructive editing and I don't like the mess they make). Is there a way to turn them off permanently? Having to remember to disable them every time I start On1 is frustrating, especially given the program's tendency to crash from time to time.
Also, I've started using On1 360 - are sidecars vital to ensure proper sync between devices?0
There is a setting in Preferences > Files for turning them off. Turning them off does not cause destructive editing. Edits are still non-destructive. What you loose is the ability to transfer the file to a new computer and bring along its edits.
I do not know if they are needed by 360º or not but I suspect the answer is no otherwise subscribers to the service should not be allowed to turn them off.0
Thanks Brian, but unfortunately that option doesn't 'stick' - once you close On1, it's reinstated once you reopen the application.0
Please report this to tech support. It's an option I don't really want to test for myself. ;)0
Please sign in to leave a comment.