I double clicked a .dng file which already had been edited once with basic adjustments, lens correction, alignment, crop and light, and had then been saved with Done - still in the capacity of a .dng file. The color space was shown to be Adobe RGB 1998.
Now, the second edit included 2 extra layers (of which 1 was later deleted), some masking and a little this and that, and the file was saved with Done. Now it turned up in the browser as af NEW file, an .onphoto file, and the color space turned out to be ProPhoto RGB (2.2.). This change of the color space happened without being a deliberate choice of mine.
How did it happen?
I am not interested in random shifts between color spaces while editing the same image.
Also, why is a new file created, making the same image available in two versions. Is the .onphoto file (indicated as RAW) including all adjustments, so I can delete the original .dng file? Otherwise this seems a bit redundant.
Please sign in to leave a comment.