Is there a way to save an edit without leaving the edit module? I get to a point where I want to save my work but then continue with my edit. When I use the "Done" button I exit the edit module and then have to re enter to continue my edits. Just wondering if there was a quick save method without leaving the edit module.
No, returning to the Browser is the only way to do a save of your edits.0
Surely edits are saved in edit mode when you move on to the next image?0
Yes, of course. While you are editing an image all the edits are held in the program's Scratch space. When you finish editing an image, either by returning to the Browser or by selecting a new image to edit, the edits are saved to the .on1 file and the scratch space gets cleared.
Mark specifically asked about saving his work and continuing to edit the same image so my answer was specific to the question. Sorry for any confusion.0
When editing a photo, I like to walk away for a day, then come back and continue editing. How do I accomplish this. I've found "Done" means done.
Brian said that returning to "Browse" or selecting a new image clears the edits for that photo. How do I "suspend" the editing process, saving the edits for further tweaking?0
Ken, are you running the ON1 Photo RAW program as a stand alone program or are you calling it with a plug-in from another program?
If you are using the stand alone program all you have to do is go back into the Editor, all your edits will still be there just as you left them. If you have used any Layers either by explicitly adding a New Layer or by using the Panorama or HDR merge feature a new .onphoto file will be created that contains all the edits made in that Editing session.
If you are using one of the plug-ins you may not be able to adjust previous edits. The only way to do it that I know right now is by using the Photoshop plug-in on a Smart Layer as explained in the User Guide on page 10.0
When my editing is very long & complex, I save versions (v1, v2, ...) (cmd+'). After finishing editing, I can delete the versions immediately or after a while, just in case I decide for any further editing0
I could be wrong but (at least in 2020.6):
- once done is pressed the edit history is lost and you can't UNDO it
- some edits like clone stamp and spot healing are not saved in a way that allows you to re-edit them after done is hit
Both of which I find very frustrating so I'd love to be proved wrong.0
No, you are not wrong. That is how the program is designed. As for the Clone Stamp and the Spot Healing brush not being undoable or re-editable, that is exactly why the new tools were added. You have a choice now.0
I posted a similar question today that Brian is addressing. But this brings up another question. If you hit done and therefore can no longer UNDO anything but are not really happy and want to start anew, what do you do? Do you remove the jpg via the browser and then replace it again with the original jpg?0
When you want to start over with your edits just click the Reset All button or use the Settings > Reset All command. The Settings menu also gives you the option of removing individual sets of edits instead of having to remove all of them.
Once again, the User Guide is your friend.0
Please sign in to leave a comment.