Skip to main content

New User needs help

Comments

5 comments

  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Once you've exported an image your edits are "baked in" and are no longer adjustable in THAT file. You have to go back to the original file where you set the text and make your adjustments there then Export it again.

    The History is only good for the current editing session for that individual image. Once you return to the Browser or move to a new photo while remaining in the Editor the history is wiped.

    0
  • Lynn Salem

    Thanks Brian. That stinks. I have to export to save, right? Sounds like twice the work and export. I'll give it shot. 

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    It depends upon what you mean by 'save'. Your edits are saved in the .on1 sidecar file and in an internal database but they cannot be seen outside of Photo RAW without Exporting first. It isn't necessary to create a psd or tif unless you want to continue editing the photo in some other software.

    Don't need to export the image to see what the Text is going to look like. What you see in the Editor and Browser is what you should get when exported so you can make any adjustments needed before exporting.

    0
  • Lynn Salem

    Ah, ok that cleared up a lot for me. Thank you. Have a great day.

    0
  • Jeff Colburn

    Hi Brian,

    You said, The History is only good for the current editing session for that individual image. Once you return to the Browser or move to a new photo while remaining in the Editor the history is wiped.

    This is true, but I use Snapshot, which I love, and I make new Snapshots throughout the editing process, so I can leave the image, come back, and play with all the editing steps I did.

    Have Fun,

    Jeff

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.