Skip to main content

Question about catalogues

Comments

4 comments

  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    Creating a Catalog will not duplicate any of your photos. However, having the same folder cataloged twice will place 2 copies of the Preview in the PerfectBrowseCache, one for each Catalog. I've done this myself. I have my entire Photos folder cataloged and I've cataloged a couple of its sub-folders just for easier access to those folders.

    There should be some fixes for the program's tendency to loose edits in the next update. I was working with the engineers on this problem a couple of months ago. I don't know if the process of creating the catalogs will restore the missing edits for those photos whose .on1 sidecar files still contain the edits. I do know that if the edits are still in the .on1 file they can be recovered by renaming the folder holding the photo(s) with the missing edits. That causes the program to reread that folder's contents and if the edits are there they will be reapplied.

    You can find out if the edits are still present or not by opening the .on1 sidecar file in a text editor. You'll see any metadata in plain ASCII text. If the edits are still in the file you will also see a bunch of gibberish. This is the binary data for the edits being interpreted as ASCII. If you see that you can recover the edits by renaming the file/folder as described above, or by moving the photo to a new location then moving it back to where it belongs.

    0
  • Steven Kurzrok

    Will renaming work on subfolders also ie rename folder 2021 and all of its subfolders and files  will be reread?

    Steve

    0
  • Brian Lawson Community moderator

    I believe so but it's been a while so I can't be absolutely sure. Sorry.

    0
  • Steven Kurzrok

    Appreciate the help. Thanks!

     

    Steve

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.